Field Blog #8 Gearity Elementary School

Recently our class completed our last school visit to Gearity Elementary school. I was very excited for this visit because I want to teach early childhood. When we arrived I was assigned to the preschool to observe. After being in the preschool for a few hours and I can say that I do not want to teach it!! When we arrived at the classroom we were not very welcomed, the classroom assistant was not very pleasant towards us. I’m not sure if it was the preschool I didn’t like or if it was the school but I didn’t enjoy the school as much as the other two schools we visited. In the preschool, the children started their day off with circle time, going over what day it was and the weather etc.  After viewing this I decided to base my observations off of the question, “What do teachers do to keep the attention of their students?” The teacher in the classroom I was in used a lot of songs and little jingles to keep the students engaged. One thing I observed about the preschool is that it is not very strutted. The students play a lot but their play time actually allows them to learn. They had different stations around the room that they could play at such as writing, art, listening, etc. I really liked the stations writing and listening because these skills are very good to start picking up at such a young age. They could listen to a story or practice writing some letters. After they were done Playing they went to the library for the first time, the librarian wasn’t there so the teacher just read a story. After the conclusion of this visit I can say that I would like to teach 2nd grade. Preschool was a little to young for me. As far as the school goes I wasn’t extremely impressed, it may have been the classroom I was in, I just didn’t feel very welcomed. Maybe it I was observing an older classroom it would be different!

Leave a comment